The FANS Society are seeking nominations for the 2019 FANS Distinguished Artist Award and encourages your nominations. (Deadline May 17, 2019) 


Fill out the on-line form that is on this page, or…
Send in an application my mail. To download, click here.

Nominations Must Include:

  1. Cover Letter: (250 word max) explaining who you are and why you are nominating your candidate.

  2. Succinct Paragraph: (250 word max) summarizing the highlights of your candidate’s career in the arts.

  3. Candidate’s Documentation: To provide the FANS Society with a clear understanding your candidate’s career. (Examples: resume or CV, digital images, audio recordings, video, media clippings, relevant web links.

  4. Fill out the application form and send. 

Distinguished Artist Award

The FANS Distinguished Artist Award is intended to publicaly recognize and honour North and West Vancouver artists who have created a substantial, nationally recognized body of work in performing, visual, literary or media arts.

The first FANS Distinguished Artist Award was presented in 1995 and subsequently this prestigious award has been given to many of the North Shore’s best actors, painters, poets, First Nation carvers, musicians and composers. FANS believes that through this Award we are fostering an important creative legacy that both celebrates outstanding artistic careers and bears witness to the heights that can be achieved when artists follow their dreams.

North Vancouver and West Vancouver are fortunate to have an abundance of talented artists with acclaimed careers, making them creative treasures in our community.

Over the past decade, FANS has been pleased to recognize the artistic achievements of the following distinguished North Shore artists: Robert Clothier, Elizabeth Smily, Jean Coulthard, Roy Forbes, Luman & Aryln Coad, Arnold Shives, Norman Tait, Bryan Adams, Michael Conway Baker, Daniel Izzard, Dee Daniels, Lyle Sopel, Judith Marcuse, Peter Kiss, Gerald Van Wyck, Don S. Williams, Michael Binkley, Xwa Lack Tun, Ross Penhall, Nicola Cavendish, Charles van Sandwyck, Jay Brazeau, Anna Wyman, Douglas Coupland, Bobbie Burgers, Pierre Coupey, Brent Comber, Shari Ulrich, Gene Ramsbottom, Cori Creed, Jennifer Mascall, Lynn Johnston, Marcus Mosely and Susanna Blunt.

The FANS Society are seeking nominations for the 2019 FANS Distinguished Artist Award and encourages your nominations.